#70 | The Events


The 2015 edition of PokerStars’ World Championship of Online Poker kicked off on Sunday as a grand total of 70 events will be presented during the three-week series.

‘CrownUpGuy’, also known as German star Fedor Holz, won the Main Event last season. This year’s Main Event is set to begin on September 27 – the winner will walk away with $1,500,000!

Top 5 | 2014 WCOOP Results
1st Fedor “CrownUpGuy” Holz (GER)
2nd Yuri “theNERDguy” Martins (BRA)
3rd “neckbr4ke” (GER)
4th Elior “Crazy Elior” Sion (UK)
5th Faraz “The-Toilet 0” Jaka (USA)


675,942 | The Bounty


Five months after winning the Mega Millions event during WSOP Circuit Los Angeles, Irvine native Mike Shariati was back at it at the Bicycle Casino on Friday, defeating two-time WPT Champion Freddy Deeb heads-up to win the WPT Legends of Poker.

Shariati collects $675,942 for the victory, not bad for the very first WPT result of his career on the live tournament circuit!

Top 5 | 2015 WPT Legends of Poker
1st Mike Shariati (USA)
2nd Freddy Deeb (LIB)
3rd Brent Roberts (USA)
4th Aaron Kweskin (USA)
5th Stan Jablonski (USA)

*Photo courtesy of Joe Giron/World Poker Tour


1,445 | The Distance

Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 4.40.34 PM

With the WPT Legends of Poker concluding, many players are making their way to Thackerville, Oklahoma to play the 2015 River Poker Series Main Event, hosted by the great Maria Ho.

In order to get there, players will first have to fly 1,445 miles from LAX to the Dallas Forth Worth International Airport. Then, it’s time to jump in that rental car to make the 90-minute journey to the WinStar World Casino where a guaranteed $1,000,000 awaits the Main Event winner.

So for those players thinking of following Matt Stout’s lead, remember that with two more Day 1’s on the schedule set for later today and tomorrow (the event also offers re-entry), there is still plenty of time to get there – good luck, players!


15/1 | The Offer

1970 71 1974 Johnny Moss

Johnny Moss was offered 15/1 odds to get into a fight with a man rumored to have never lost a single bar rumble. The man even offered Moss to get the first punch in … that would be the only punch thrown by the poker legend, who ended up in the hospital when all was said and done – not to mention lose his bet!

Why did the nine-time WSOP bracelet winner take the bet in the first place? “15/1 was too good to pass up” said the nine-time WSOP bracelet winner.

#14 | The Streak

Doyle Brunson-082815-GPI

The Legends of Poker was first presented in 1995 as Luis Santoni defeated Nhut Tran for the title. In 2002, Chris Karagulleyan became the first ever winner of the WPT Legends of Poker. This marks the 14th year that the event, presented at the Bicycle Casino, has been part of the WPT Schedule.

Top 5 | Notable Legends of Poker Champions:
1997 – Erik Seidel (pre-WPT)
2000 – Layne Flack (pre-WPT)
2004 – Doyle Brunson
2007 – Dan Harrington
2011 – Will Failla

#60 | The Record

Jason Mercier-081915-GPI

Poker superstar Jason Mercier became the very first player to be ranked #1 on the GPI World Poker Rankings for 60 total weeks. Mercier’s latest journey atop the rankings has been going for 7 consecutive weeks; he was first ranked #1 in the World on June 27, 2011.

Top 5 | Jason Mercier’s Top Streaks at #1
17 weeks – May/September 2013
11 weeks – February/April 2012
10 weeks – July/September 2012
7 weeks – July 2015 to now
4 weeks – Aug/Sep 2011, Dec 2011/Jan 2012

*Photo courtesy of Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open

3,929 | The Runners

Mario Lopez-ESPT-Rene-Velli-PokerStars

Argentina’s Mario Lopez defeated Jonn Forst of Austria heads-up for the biggest poker victory of his career on the live tournament circuit at Estrellas Poker Tour (ESPT) Barcelona. A total of 3,292 players entered the event, making it the biggest tournament in ESPT history.

Top 5 | Biggest fields in ESPT history:
3,292 – Barcelona 2015
2,560 – Barcelona 2014
1,798 – Barcelona 2013
1,036 – Barcelona 2012
841 – Marbella 2015

*Photo courtesy of René Velli/EPT/PokerStars

Premium WordPress Themes